Electric Co-ops Welcome House Passage of Surface Transportation Board Reforms

(ARLINGTON, VA) — National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA) Interim CEO Jeffrey Connor today praised House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee Chairman Bill Shuster (R-Penn.) and House leadership for passing the Surface Transportation Board (STB) Re-authorization Act of 2015.

NRECA also expressed its gratitude to U.S. Sens. John Thune (R-S.D.) and Bill Nelson (D-Fla.) for their leadership in sponsoring the bill.

“This bill represents an important step toward leveling the playing field on behalf of electric cooperatives that have been subjected to years of freight rail monopoly practices,” Connor said. “We will continue to work for a process that produces fair and equitable results for electric co-ops and their members.”

The National Rural Electric Cooperative Association is the national service organization that represents the nation’s more than 900 private, not-for-profit, consumer-owned electric cooperatives, which provide service to 42 million people in 47 states.