Roanoke Electric Membership Corporation Board Receives NRECA Award for Political Engagement

SAN DIEGO — The National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA) today named Roanoke Electric Membership Corporation’s board of directors the winner of the William F. Matson Democracy Award.

Roanoke EMC board members (left to right): Millard Lee, Robert Riddick, Darnell E. Lee, Allen W. Speller

The Democracy Award recognizes outstanding accomplishments and service to rural electric cooperatives through political action, political education and participation. Roanoke Electric is a strong participant in the Action Committee for Rural Electrification (ACRE®), NRECA’s political action committee.

“Roanoke Electric is a leader among not only North Carolina’s 26 electric cooperatives but electric cooperatives nationally in regards to their support of ACRE®,” said NRECA President Mel Coleman, CEO of North Arkansas Electric Cooperative. “The board of Roanoke Electric displays extraordinary dedication to furthering the objectives of the co-op through growing participation both on the federal and state levels. This commitment is evident with 100 percent participation from the Roanoke board and employees, as well as strong participation by the co-op’s membership, in ACRE® and the Rural Electric Action Program (REAP), the state political action committee.”

More than 5,500 representatives from electric co-ops across the nation are attending NRECA’s Annual Meeting celebrating its 75th Anniversary. The meeting runs from Feb. 23 through Mar. 1 in San Diego and sets NRECA’s legislative and organizational agenda for 2017. Co-op representatives also hear from NRECA officials, key public figures and business experts about issues affecting electric cooperatives and their consumer members. The Annual Meeting is held in conjunction with TechAdvantage, a technology learning event and expo that features more than 280 exhibitors showcasing their state-of-the-art technologies, equipment and services.

The National Rural Electric Cooperative Association is the national service organization that represents the nation’s more than 900 not-for-profit, consumer-owned electric cooperatives, which provide service to 42 million people in 47 states.